Introducing YTClass

ยท

2 min read

Introducing YTClass

The Problem

YouTube is a great platform for learning anything, you can find videos on almost any topic. Some YouTube playlists are better than paid courses, but the problem is when you start learning from YouTube you end up watching tons of unrelated videos. Videos on youtube are unstructured and also you cannot track your progress on Youtube. To solve this problem I am introducing you to ytclass.

Introduction

ytclass is a website where you will find the best courses on YouTube, in a structured format, you can also track your progress. The instructor can turn their YouTube Playlist into a structured course in just a few minutes. You can become an instructor and add courses to the site once you are verified(but currently I'm allowing anyone to become an instructor so that people can test the application).

Tech Stack

  • Django
  • Bootstrap
  • Linode
  • SQLite

Walkthrough

Challenges

  • Although there were lots of challenges I faced in this project if you ask me one challenge which took most of the time to figure out is the "Auto Importing of Video from the YouTube playlist". But in the end, I was able to solve it by using the pytube package and Django'sbulk_create method.

Live Site

Visit YTClass

Repo

Conclusion

In the end, I would say that I had fun working on this project. I also learned lots of new things in Django, Which I didn't know before. Also, I learned to host Django Applications on a Linux server. That's it write your thoughts about this project in the comment.

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Ankit Kumar by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!